Creating Artie and his friends

It’s been been a busy couple of months getting Artie and the gang started. I have created most of the regular characters. I have their names and brief bios and I’ve opened accounts for them in the virtual worlds, Second Life and Metropolis. Artie is the only one whose avatar is ready to use. That’s fine for now as I want to “be” Artie for awhile and get comfortable with the character before developing the others. Down the road I might change Artie’s look as I learn more about him but creating something to start with so I could just jump into it, was my priority.

Among the cast of characters will be Artie’s dad. I just today created an avatar for him. Since I joke about being Artie’s dad, I gave him my first name. He’s Paul Milkwood. It’ll be interesting playing him as I’ll be playing me, sort of.

The funniest thing happened a week ago. I created a character called The Whoopee Pie Man. Whether I came up with the name first or the idea to make an avatar made of whoopie pies, I don’t actually recall. But I have built the avatar in both Second Life and Metropolis. I took him around and got a lot of pictures for a future story on Artie’s blog. I established groups in both worlds called the Assoc. of Flying Dessert Treats. And I wrote some stuff for a second future story. I really had a fun time flying around inworld as The Whoopee Pie Man. How could I not?

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Home

I am sitting in my corner office at the lake house. When the kids are playing, I have midday turned on but when it’s just me, I tend to go for midnight. It’s my virtual office in the virtual lake house in a virtual world. And I was... Continue →